Showing
3026 - 3050 of 3665 Records
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Amitabha Hall (or Mito Hall), Maitreya Buddha
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , éæ弄éå , 弄åä½
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Lower Guangsheng Temple, back hall (or Daxiong Bodian), west wall
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , åę®æ (å³å¤§éå®ę®æ), č„æå¢
- Period: Eastern Han, Yuan, 147 C.E., 1271-1368 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The lower temple is made up by the temple gate, front hall, back hall (or Daxiong Temple), the buttress hall and other buildings that were all built in the Yuan Dynasty. The temple gate is rather high. It is 3-bay wide and 3-bay long with single-eaved gable and hip roof. Canopies added to the front and back eaves make it like a pavilion with double eaves. The front hall is five-bay wide with only two pillars supporting the whole hall. The back hall (or Daxiong Temple) was built in the second year (1309) of the Zhida reign of the Yuan Dynasty. It is 7-bay wide with 9 purlins, 8 rafters and a single-eaved overhanging gable roof. The main statues in the hall are Amitabha Buddha, Sakyamuni Buddha, Bhaisajyaguru Buddha, Manjusri Bodhisattva, and Samantabhadra Bodhisattva. They were all made in the Yuan Dynasty. Murals were once covered on the walls, but they were removed and shipped to the United States in 1928. The mural on the south wall recorded the performance of Yuan Drama. It is rare reference material for study on Chinese dramas.
147
1368
1368
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Amitabha Hall (or Mito Hall), fresco
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , éæ弄éå , å£ē»
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Lower Guangsheng Temple, front hall (or former Buddha's Temple), Thousand-Hands Guanyin
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , åę®æ(ęåä½åÆŗ)ćåęč§é³
- Period: Eastern Han, Yuan, 147 C.E., 1271-1368 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The lower temple is made up by the temple gate, front hall, back hall (or Daxiong Temple), the buttress hall and other buildings that were all built in the Yuan Dynasty. The temple gate is rather high. It is 3-bay wide and 3-bay long with single-eaved gable and hip roof. Canopies added to the front and back eaves make it like a pavilion with double eaves. The front hall is five-bay wide with only two pillars supporting the whole hall. The back hall (or Daxiong Temple) was built in the second year (1309) of the Zhida reign of the Yuan Dynasty. It is 7-bay wide with 9 purlins, 8 rafters and a single-eaved overhanging gable roof. The main statues in the hall are Amitabha Buddha, Sakyamuni Buddha, Bhaisajyaguru Buddha, Manjusri Bodhisattva, and Samantabhadra Bodhisattva. They were all made in the Yuan Dynasty. Murals were once covered on the walls, but they were removed and shipped to the United States in 1928. The mural on the south wall recorded the performance of Yuan Drama. It is rare reference material for study on Chinese dramas.
147
1368
1368
Lower Guangsheng Temple, Mountain Gate
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , å±±éØę®æ
- Period: Eastern Han, Yuan, 147 C.E., 1271-1368 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The lower temple is made up by the temple gate, front hall, back hall (or Daxiong Temple), the buttress hall and other buildings that were all built in the Yuan Dynasty. The temple gate is rather high. It is 3-bay wide and 3-bay long with single-eaved gable and hip roof. Canopies added to the front and back eaves make it like a pavilion with double eaves. The front hall is five-bay wide with only two pillars supporting the whole hall. The back hall (or Daxiong Temple) was built in the second year (1309) of the Zhida reign of the Yuan Dynasty. It is 7-bay wide with 9 purlins, 8 rafters and a single-eaved overhanging gable roof. The main statues in the hall are Amitabha Buddha, Sakyamuni Buddha, Bhaisajyaguru Buddha, Manjusri Bodhisattva, and Samantabhadra Bodhisattva. They were all made in the Yuan Dynasty. Murals were once covered on the walls, but they were removed and shipped to the United States in 1928. The mural on the south wall recorded the performance of Yuan Drama. It is rare reference material for study on Chinese dramas.
147
1368
1368
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Amitabha Hall (or Mito Hall), seated Buddha
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , éæ弄éå , åä½
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Flying Rainbow Tower (or Feihong Pagoda)
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , é£č¹å”
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Water God's Temple (Shuishen Temple) of the Guangsheng Monastery, Ming Ying King Hall (or Mingyingwang Temple), fresco
- Title Translation: å¹æčåÆŗę°“ē„åŗ , ęåŗēę®æ, å£ē»
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The Water God's Temple has two yards: the front yard and the back yard, and includes the Temple Gate, the Door of Amenity, the Ming Ying King Hall and wing-rooms of cave dwellings. The Ming Ying King Hall is 5-bay wide and 5-bay long with a cloister around and a double-eaved gable hip roof. Beams inside are of common style. The hall houses statues of Water God Ming Ying King and his eleven attendants. Their facial features, clothes and gestures are all of Yuan style. Frescoes about people praying for the rain and other historical stories covered the walls, occupying an area of 197 square meters. The pictures of dramas at the eastern end of the south wall show a complete set of stage property for the performers: costumes, stage instruments, musical instruments, makeup, curtain, stage, and so on. The drawing was strictly arranged, the color was simple but profound, and dramatis personae were expressive. This fresco reflects the true condition of Yuan Drama in its peak time; it is a rare fine work of Yuan frescoes in China.
147
1644
1644
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Vairocana Hall (or Pilu Temple or Tianzhongtian Temple), Buddha Triad
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , ęÆå¢ę®æļ¼ęęÆå¢åÆŗę天äø天åÆŗļ¼, ä½äøå°
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Water God's Temple (Shuishen Temple) of the Guangsheng Monastery, Ming Ying King Hall (or Mingyingwang Temple), fresco
- Title Translation: å¹æčåÆŗę°“ē„åŗ , ęåŗēę®æ, å£ē»
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The Water God's Temple has two yards: the front yard and the back yard, and includes the Temple Gate, the Door of Amenity, the Ming Ying King Hall and wing-rooms of cave dwellings. The Ming Ying King Hall is 5-bay wide and 5-bay long with a cloister around and a double-eaved gable hip roof. Beams inside are of common style. The hall houses statues of Water God Ming Ying King and his eleven attendants. Their facial features, clothes and gestures are all of Yuan style. Frescoes about people praying for the rain and other historical stories covered the walls, occupying an area of 197 square meters. The pictures of dramas at the eastern end of the south wall show a complete set of stage property for the performers: costumes, stage instruments, musical instruments, makeup, curtain, stage, and so on. The drawing was strictly arranged, the color was simple but profound, and dramatis personae were expressive. This fresco reflects the true condition of Yuan Drama in its peak time; it is a rare fine work of Yuan frescoes in China.
147
1644
1644
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Vairocana Hall (or Pilu Temple or Tianzhongtian Temple), Buddha Triad's throne base
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , ęÆå¢ę®æļ¼ęęÆå¢åÆŗę天äø天åÆŗļ¼, ä½äøå°åŗ§åŗåŗ§
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Vairocana Hall (or Pilu Temple or Tianzhongtian Temple), Buddha Triad's throne base
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , ęÆå¢ę®æļ¼ęęÆå¢åÆŗę天äø天åÆŗļ¼, ä½äøå°åŗ§åŗåŗ§
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Water God's Temple (Shuishen Temple) of the Guangsheng Monastery, Ming Ying King Hall (or Mingyingwang Temple), exterior
- Title Translation: å¹æčåÆŗę°“ē„åŗ , ęåŗēę®æ, å¤éØ
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The Water God's Temple has two yards: the front yard and the back yard, and includes the Temple Gate, the Door of Amenity, the Ming Ying King Hall and wing-rooms of cave dwellings. The Ming Ying King Hall is 5-bay wide and 5-bay long with a cloister around and a double-eaved gable hip roof. Beams inside are of common style. The hall houses statues of Water God Ming Ying King and his eleven attendants. Their facial features, clothes and gestures are all of Yuan style. Frescoes about people praying for the rain and other historical stories covered the walls, occupying an area of 197 square meters. The pictures of dramas at the eastern end of the south wall show a complete set of stage property for the performers: costumes, stage instruments, musical instruments, makeup, curtain, stage, and so on. The drawing was strictly arranged, the color was simple but profound, and dramatis personae were expressive. This fresco reflects the true condition of Yuan Drama in its peak time; it is a rare fine work of Yuan frescoes in China.
147
1644
1644
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Vairocana Hall (or Pilu Temple or Tianzhongtian Temple), eaves
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , ęÆå¢ę®æļ¼ęęÆå¢åÆŗę天äø天åÆŗļ¼, ęŖ
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Sakyamuni Hall (or Daxiong Bodian), iron luohan images
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , å°čę®æ, éē½ę±å
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Upper Guangsheng Temple, Flying Rainbow Tower (or Feihong Pagoda)
- Title Translation: å¹æčäøåÆŗ , é£č¹å”
- Period: Eastern Han, Ming, 147 C.E., 1368-1644 C.E.
- Project: Guangsheng Temple Murals
- Work Description: The upper temple complex comprises the mountain gate, the Flying Rainbow Tower, the Amitabha Hall, the Great Hall, the Vairochana Hall, the Kwan-yin Hall, the Ksitigarbha Hall, as well as wing-rooms and corridors, among other features. The Mountain Gate, situated at the entrance, is flanked by two guardian warriors. Just beyond the gate stands the impressive Flying Rainbow Tower, constructed from colored glaze bricks. Originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220) and later restored in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), this thirteen-story tower soars to a height of 47.31 meters, featuring an octagonal plan. The tower is adorned with tri-colored glaze in yellow, green, and blue, creating a splendid and vibrant spectacle. Elaborate wooden square blocks and intricately carved designs of Buddha, Bodhisattvas, guardian warriors, flowers, birds, and animals adorn the eaves and pillars. Corridors encircle the first story, while the towerās interior houses only the stairs leading to the tenth floor, showcasing remarkable architectural and artistic prowess.
147
1644
1644
Buddha with Two Attendants in a Niche
- Title Translation: å¦ę„äøå°ä½é¾
- Period: Tang, 703 C.E.
- Project: Guangzhai Temple Qibaotai Pagoda
703
Niche of a Buddha Triad
- Title Translation: ä½äøå£é¾
- Period: Tang, 703 C.E.
- Project: Guangzhai Temple Qibaotai Pagoda
- Work Description: This niche belongs to a set of thirty stone reliefs from Baoqing Temple, and is one of the most representative stone carvings from the Tang dynasty (618ā907). Baoqing Temple was a temple located near the south gate of the Changāan capital during the Ming dynasty (1368ā1644). Today, the only structure that remains of the temple is a stone pagoda which held stone niches, including this one. These carvings, which were stored in the main hall of the temple, had originally been part of the Qibaotai pagoda in Guangzhai Temple, a temple in the Guangzhai district located immediately south of the Daming Palace in Changāan during the Tang dynasty. This information is found on multiple niches from the series in the form of inscriptions, alongside carvings suggesting that they were created in the early eighth century (703ā4, 724).The Guangzhai Temple was allegedly founded in 677 at the location where a Buddhist relic (cremated remains of the Buddhaās body) had been discovered. The Qibotai, on the other hand, was constructed by Empress Wu Zetian (r. 690ā705), the only empress regnant in Chinese history, who also installed a series of stone Buddhist reliefs as decoration.This series of Buddhist reliefs features two styles of composition: ones depicting a buddha triad, and ones that depict a single buddha or deity. The former type can be classified further into three depending on the pose and/or hand gesture (mudra) of the central buddha: a buddha seated with legs folded performing the bhumisparsha mudra (Jp. gÅma-in) that symbolizes the expulsion of evil, a buddha seated with legs folded performing the abhaya mudra (Jp. semui-in) that symbolizes fearlessness, and a seated buddha with feet touching the ground performing the abhaya mudra. Single-image niches typically feature the bodhisattva Ekadashamukha, the eleven-headed manifestation of Avalokiteshvara (Jp. Kannon). According to the inscriptions on the works, the triads featuring a central buddha with legs folded performing the abhaya mudra represent the buddha Amitabha, while the ones with a buddha seated with feet touching the ground performing the same mudra represented Maitreya Buddha. There are also variations in iconography among the buddhas performing the bhumisparsha mudra; some wear crowns, while others sit upon a shumi pedestal or a lotus pedestal. These may have roots in representations of the historic Buddha, Shakyamuni, that were popular in India at the time.This particular niche depicts a central buddha seated with both feet touching the ground, suggesting that it is an image of Maitreya, flanked by two attendants. At the top, a pair of heavenly beings are depicted in shallow relief to either side of a parasol that hangs above the central buddha. The rectangular space at the bottom bears inscriptions indicating that this particular work was dedicated by Yang Sixu, the duke of Guoguo (Guoguo-gong č¢å½å ¬).
703
Cave 8
- Title Translation: ē¬¬å «ēŖ
- Period: Sui, 581-618 C.E.
- Project: Tianlongshan Caves
- Work Description: Cave 8 is the largest of the caves at Tianlongshan with the exception of Cave 9, the colossal Buddha cave. It is the only central pillar cave at the site and the only cave known to be of the Sui dynasty (581-618). It has a porch three bays wide that is largely preserved. The traces of two guardian figures standing at the sides of the entrance can still be seen. At the right side of the porch there is a stele with a long inscription dated to the fourth year of the kaihuang reign period, or 584. It records the persecution of Buddhism in the preceding Northern Zhou period after the conquest of Northern Qi, and its restoration with the rise of the Sui dynasty. The cave is dedicated by a Sui official to the well-being of the Sui emperor Wen (r. 581-604) and his son Yang Guang, the prince of Jin. The main chamber of Cave 8 is square in plan with a large square central pillar. It has three niches around the back and side walls and four niches on the central pillar, each with a central seated Buddha and standing attendants.
581 - 618
Cave 8
- Title Translation: ē¬¬å «ēŖ
- Period: Sui, 581-618 C.E.
- Project: Tianlongshan Caves
- Work Description: Cave 8 is the largest of the caves at Tianlongshan with the exception of Cave 9, the colossal Buddha cave. It is the only central pillar cave at the site and the only cave known to be of the Sui dynasty (581-618). It has a porch three bays wide that is largely preserved. The traces of two guardian figures standing at the sides of the entrance can still be seen. At the right side of the porch there is a stele with a long inscription dated to the fourth year of the kaihuang reign period, or 584. It records the persecution of Buddhism in the preceding Northern Zhou period after the conquest of Northern Qi, and its restoration with the rise of the Sui dynasty. The cave is dedicated by a Sui official to the well-being of the Sui emperor Wen (r. 581-604) and his son Yang Guang, the prince of Jin. The main chamber of Cave 8 is square in plan with a large square central pillar. It has three niches around the back and side walls and four niches on the central pillar, each with a central seated Buddha and standing attendants.
581 - 618
Cave 6
- Title Translation: ē¬¬å ēŖ
- Period: Tang, 618-907 C.E.
- Project: Tianlongshan Caves
- Work Description: Cave 6 is a small square cave of the Tang period that had nine sculpted images on the interior, with a central seated Buddha on the back and side walls accompanied by bodhisattvas and disciples.
618 - 907
Cave 8
- Title Translation: ē¬¬å «ēŖ
- Period: Sui, 581-618 C.E.
- Project: Tianlongshan Caves
- Work Description: Cave 8 is the largest of the caves at Tianlongshan with the exception of Cave 9, the colossal Buddha cave. It is the only central pillar cave at the site and the only cave known to be of the Sui dynasty (581-618). It has a porch three bays wide that is largely preserved. The traces of two guardian figures standing at the sides of the entrance can still be seen. At the right side of the porch there is a stele with a long inscription dated to the fourth year of the kaihuang reign period, or 584. It records the persecution of Buddhism in the preceding Northern Zhou period after the conquest of Northern Qi, and its restoration with the rise of the Sui dynasty. The cave is dedicated by a Sui official to the well-being of the Sui emperor Wen (r. 581-604) and his son Yang Guang, the prince of Jin. The main chamber of Cave 8 is square in plan with a large square central pillar. It has three niches around the back and side walls and four niches on the central pillar, each with a central seated Buddha and standing attendants.
581 - 618
Cave 8
- Title Translation: ē¬¬å «ēŖ
- Period: Sui, 581-618 C.E.
- Project: Tianlongshan Caves
- Work Description: Cave 8 is the largest of the caves at Tianlongshan with the exception of Cave 9, the colossal Buddha cave. It is the only central pillar cave at the site and the only cave known to be of the Sui dynasty (581-618). It has a porch three bays wide that is largely preserved. The traces of two guardian figures standing at the sides of the entrance can still be seen. At the right side of the porch there is a stele with a long inscription dated to the fourth year of the kaihuang reign period, or 584. It records the persecution of Buddhism in the preceding Northern Zhou period after the conquest of Northern Qi, and its restoration with the rise of the Sui dynasty. The cave is dedicated by a Sui official to the well-being of the Sui emperor Wen (r. 581-604) and his son Yang Guang, the prince of Jin. The main chamber of Cave 8 is square in plan with a large square central pillar. It has three niches around the back and side walls and four niches on the central pillar, each with a central seated Buddha and standing attendants.
581 - 618
Cave 8
- Title Translation: ē¬¬å «ēŖ
- Period: Sui, 581-618 C.E.
- Project: Tianlongshan Caves
- Work Description: Cave 8 is the largest of the caves at Tianlongshan with the exception of Cave 9, the colossal Buddha cave. It is the only central pillar cave at the site and the only cave known to be of the Sui dynasty (581-618). It has a porch three bays wide that is largely preserved. The traces of two guardian figures standing at the sides of the entrance can still be seen. At the right side of the porch there is a stele with a long inscription dated to the fourth year of the kaihuang reign period, or 584. It records the persecution of Buddhism in the preceding Northern Zhou period after the conquest of Northern Qi, and its restoration with the rise of the Sui dynasty. The cave is dedicated by a Sui official to the well-being of the Sui emperor Wen (r. 581-604) and his son Yang Guang, the prince of Jin. The main chamber of Cave 8 is square in plan with a large square central pillar. It has three niches around the back and side walls and four niches on the central pillar, each with a central seated Buddha and standing attendants.
581 - 618
Cave 8
- Title Translation: ē¬¬å «ēŖ
- Period: Sui, 581-618 C.E.
- Project: Tianlongshan Caves
- Work Description: Cave 8 is the largest of the caves at Tianlongshan with the exception of Cave 9, the colossal Buddha cave. It is the only central pillar cave at the site and the only cave known to be of the Sui dynasty (581-618). It has a porch three bays wide that is largely preserved. The traces of two guardian figures standing at the sides of the entrance can still be seen. At the right side of the porch there is a stele with a long inscription dated to the fourth year of the kaihuang reign period, or 584. It records the persecution of Buddhism in the preceding Northern Zhou period after the conquest of Northern Qi, and its restoration with the rise of the Sui dynasty. The cave is dedicated by a Sui official to the well-being of the Sui emperor Wen (r. 581-604) and his son Yang Guang, the prince of Jin. The main chamber of Cave 8 is square in plan with a large square central pillar. It has three niches around the back and side walls and four niches on the central pillar, each with a central seated Buddha and standing attendants.
581 - 618